The Atlantic Provinces Library Association is pleased to announce that this year’s recipient of the APLA Merit Award is John Teskey.

The APLA Merit Award honours an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to library services in the Atlantic Provinces. John has been known for innovation, advocacy, and for providing leadership in regional and national organizations.

During his years at UNB, John employed technological advances and cooperative agreements to expand and share access to resources with hospital, academic, school and public libraries. His vision led to the establishment of the John B. McNair Learning Commons in 2007 and the creation of the position of Copyright Officer for UNB in 2008. He has served as president of APLA, CARL, CLA and, as well as serving on the Elsevier Science North American Advisory Board, the OCLC Members Council, the CRKN Board of Directors and the OCLC Canadian Advisory Board. One supporter writes, “It is difficult to adequately articulate how visionary and intelligent his contributions have been, and in what high esteem he is held.”

Please join us in celebrating John Teskey’s service and accomplishments at the Merit Award banquet on Friday, June12th, during the APLA conference in St. John’s.

For more information on APLA 2015:









Laurinda Matheson

Research Services Librarian

Angus L. Macdonald Library

St. Francis Xavier University

Antigonish, NS

B0H 1X0

[log in to unmask]

(902) 867-4883