Best wishes for 2005 to members and guests. 
This is a great opportunity for APLA members to reflect upon the past and honour one of our own:

2005 APLA Merit Award
The Atlantic Provinces Library Association invites nominations for the Association's Merit Award.  The Award is confered on an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to library service in the Atlantic Provinces.  Nominations accompanied by appropriate documentation of the nominees and her/his contribution (s) should be sent by January 31, 2005 to:
Laurette Mackey
APLA Past President
115 Bailey Ave
Fredericton, NB E3A 5V1
Phone: 506-474-1143
E-mail: [log in to unmask]
For more information, I have added the APLA Procedures Manual section on the Merit Award:

C: Merit Award

(the following revisions were accepted at the Executive meeting, 27 May 1999, item 9 and the Executive meeting of 17-18 April 2004, item 9)


Atlantic Provinces Library Association Merit Award

Terms of the Award (Standing Order 9.08):

1. The award honours an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to library service in the Atlantic Provinces.

2. Some of the contributions that might be considered in selecting a person for this award are:

a. leadership in library associations at the local, regional, and provincial levels;

b. contributions to the development, application and utilization of library services and library


c. significant contribution to library literature.

3. Normally, only one award shall be given each year.

Form of the Award:

1. At the annual conference, the award winner will be presented with:

a. An Atlantic pewter goblet handmade by a pewter smith and decorated with the Arms of the Province in which the presentation takes place and inscribed on one side with the name of the winner, the award and the date. The goblets (7 oz, shiny finish) are purchased from Aitken Pewter, Fredericton, NB and are patterned on a design originally produced by Dr. Ian Crowell, Canada's first pewterer.

b. A certificate (blank certificates are held by the secretary).

c. Life membership in the Atlantic Provinces Library Association.

2. A typescript of the presenter's remarks shall be given to the recipient.


1. The Past President shall be responsible for organizing the procedure for selecting an award winner and for presenting the award.

2. Nominations for the award shall be solicited through an advertisement in the September/October issue of the APLA Bulletin.

3. Names of persons previously nominated but not chosen may be resubmitted.

4. The deadline for nominations shall be December 31.

5. Each recommendation for an award must be accompanied by documentation of the nominee's achievements.

6. The executive will act as a jury to select an award winner from among those nominated by members of the Association.

7. An award need not be made if, in the opinion of the executive, no sufficiently outstanding nominee has been recommended.

8. The award shall be presented at the Association's annual conference.

9. The transcript of the presentation remarks shall be published in the APLA Bulletin.



1975 Jessie Mifflen, Newfoundland Public Library Services, St. John's, NF

1975 M.E. (Mollie) Cameron, Halifax City Library, Halifax, NS

1976 James MacEacheron, New Brunswick Library Services, Fredericton, NB

1977 Evelyn Campbell, Nova Scotia Research Foundation, Halifax, NS

1978 Hubert Button, Albert-Westmorland-Kent Regional Library Board, Moncton, NB

1979 Norman Horrocks, School of Library Service,  Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS

1980 Agnes O'Dea, Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, NF

1981 Shirley Elliott, Nova Scotia Legislative Library, Halifax, NS

1982 Norman Skinner, Saint John Regional Library Board, Saint John, NB

1982 Eileen Travis, Saint John Regional Library, Saint John, NB

1985 Dr. Gertrude Gunn, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB

1987 Katherine Le Butt, York Regional Library, Fredericton, NB

1988 Carin Somers, Nova Scotia Provincial Library, Halifax, NS

1989 Henry Bramwell Chandler, Prince Edward Island Libraries, Charlottetown, PEI

1990 Douglas Lochhead, Mount Allison University, Sackville, NB

1991 Pearce Penny, Provincial Public Library Services, St. John's, NF

1992 Alfred Bailey, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB

1993 Iain Bates, Acadia University, Wolfville, NS

1994 No Award

1995 Barbara Kincaie, Western Counties Regional Library, Yarmouth, NS

1995 Diane MacQuarrie, Halifax City Regional Library, Halifax, NS

1996 Eric Swanick, Legislative Library, Fredericton, NB

1997 Suzanne Sexty, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, NF

1998 Margot Ellen Schenk, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, NS

1999 Alban Arsenault, Universite de Moncton, Moncton, NB

2000 No Award

2001 Peter Glenister, Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, NS

2002 No Award

2003 Joy Tillotson, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. Johnís, NL

2004 Claude Potvin, Albert-Westmoreland-Kent Regional Library, Moncton, NB